When is spinal surgery the solution?

2-1-droppedImage

Surgical intervention becomes an option if two conditions are met: The intervention yields a better result than conservative treatment, and if the expected benefit outweighs the risks involved. In this case, the risk/benefit analysis tips in favour of surgery. There are several situations that call for surgical intervention.

Nerve decompression allows the pressure to be alleviated through surgery and improves the chances of healing in case of neurologic deficit. Emergency intervention may be decided on to avoid paralysis. Decompression may be paired with stabilisation.

Certain types of severe pain caused by spinal lesions are so severe that conservative treatment is not enough to alleviate them, for instance in case of severe sciatica.

Traumatic instability due to a fracture or sprain of the vertebral column may threaten nervous elements, and calls for the restabilisation of the vertebral column.

Certain tumours may also jeopardise vertebral column stability and compress nervous elements, over and above their destructive and invasive capacity. Tumour resection and the restoration of stability may be necessary.

Deformations of the vertebral column, stemming from scoliosis, kyphosis or a post-traumatic lesion may disrupt the balance of the vertebral column. This, in turn, causes pain and may even trigger nerve compression. When deformations reach a certain degree, their progress cannot be stopped without surgical intervention. Stabilisation and corrective intervention can be the solution to stopping such progression.

Pain generated by degenerative diseases stemming from a malfunctioning intervertebral disc or posterior articulations can be severe, with conservative treatment not enough to allow the patient to lead a normal life. Certain interventions, such as the insertion of a disc prosthesis or vertebral stabilisation with an arthrodesis, can alleviate such pain and restore the function of mobile structures. These procedures may alleviate pain stemming from nerve compression or the mobility of some levels.

The greater the discomfort of the patient and the longer conservative treatment has gone on without yielding any real result, the greater the chances of opting for surgical intervention. In general, the advantages, drawbacks, risks and expected development must be assessed and discussed in case of every surgical intervention, taking into account the age, general health, social and professional status and motivation of the patient.

Saint George Clinic

Saint George Clinic

The Saint George Polyclinic is located on the Cimiez hill in Nice. The clinic is easily accessible by bus or car
Read more
IM2S - Monaco Institute of Sports Medicine and Surgery

IM2S - Monaco Institute of Sports Medicine and Surgery

Read more
Spine Examination and Treatment Centre - Nice

Spine Examination and Treatment Centre - Nice

The consultation centre is located
Read more
Lumbar disc herniation treatment

Lumbar disc herniation treatment

Discectomy is a surgical procedure that
Spinal Nerve Decompression

Spinal Nerve Decompression

Recalibration is a decompression procedure using posterior resection.
Spondylolisthesis correction

Spondylolisthesis correction

Spondylolisthesis is a condition in which a bone (vertebra) in the lower part of the spine slips out of the proper position onto the bone below it, and may lead to
Lumbar disc prosthesis

Lumbar disc prosthesis

Lumbar disc prosthesis were developed to restore the function of normal discs

Qui opérer de la colonne vertébrale?

Une intervention chirurgicale est décidée dans deux conditions: si l’intervention offre un meilleur résultat que le traitement conservateur; Si le bénéfice attendu est supérieur au risque encouru. On parle alors d’un rapport bénéfice/risque, qui est en faveur de l’opération. Plusieurs situations nécessitent une intervention chirurgicale:

En cas de compression neurologique l’opération permet de lever une compression, elle permet d’espérer une meilleure récupération neurologique en cas de déficit. L’intervention peut être décidée en urgence s’il le faut pour éviter une paralysie. La décompression peut être associée à une stabilisation.

Certaines douleurs hyperalgiques provoquées par des lésions rachidiennes peuvent être tellement importantes que le traitement conservateur n’est pas capable de les soulager comme dans les cas de sciatiques hyperalgiques.

L’instabilité traumatique due une fracture ou une entorse de la colonne vertébrale peut menacer les éléments neurologiques, le rétablissement de la stabilité de la colonne vertébrale est donc nécessaire.

Le développement de certaines tumeurs en plus de leur capacité destructrice et d’envahissement, risque de compromettre la stabilité de la colonne vertébrale et de comprimer les éléments neurologiques. Leurs résections et le rétablissement de la stabilité peuvent être nécessaires.

Une déformation de la colonne vertébrale que ce soit due à une scoliose, à une cyphose ou à une lésion post traumatique peut perturber l’équilibre de la colonne vertébrale. Celle-ci provoque des douleurs, parfois même des compressions neurologiques. Lorsque certaines déformations atteignent un certain degré, dans l'absence d'intervention chirurgicale elles vont progresser ultérieurement. L’intervention de stabilisation et de correction pourrait être indiquée pour stopper une telle évolution.

Des douleurs provoquées par une pathologie dégénérative par le dysfonctionnement d’un disque intervertébral ou des articulations postérieures peuvent être importantes au point que le traitement conservateur peut ne pas suffire à permettre une vie convenable. Certaines interventions permettent de lutter contre ces douleurs en rétablissant la fonction des structures mobiles comme la mise en place d’une prothèse discale pour le disque intervertébral ou la stabilisation des vertèbres par arthrodèse. Elles peuvent supprimer les douleurs provenant de la compression neurologique ou de la mobilité de certains étages.

Plus les gênes sont considérables pour le patient et plus la durée de traitement conservateur préalable sans résultat suffisant s’est étendue, plus les solutions chirurgicales seront considérées. De manière générale, pour chaque intervention, les avantages, les inconvénients, les risques opératoires et l’évolution probable doivent être évalués et discutés tout en tenant compte de l’âge, de l’état de santé général, de la situation socio-professionnelle et de la motivation du patient.

 

La Policlinique Saint George se situe sur la colline de Cimiez de Nice. Facilement accessible par bus, ou

La discectomie est une technique chirurgicale qui

Le recalibrage est une technique de décompression par voie postérieure visant à réséquer.

Le spondylolisthésis est le glissement d’une vertèbre par rapport à l’autre qui peut mener

Les disques artificiels sont des implants qui ont été développés dans le but de restaurer le fonctionnement des disques